



Winners of the ID People EMEA Awards 2012 announced

Leaders and visionaries from 37 countries gather to celebrate regional EMEA winners for ICT-driven innovation at prestigious ceremony in Abu Dhabi

Milan and Abu Dhabi, March 19, 2012

The winners of this year's ID People EMEA Awards were revealed on March 19th during ID WORLD Abu Dhabi 2012, the annual EMEA summit on security mobility and traceability held in Abu Dhabi. At the ceremony, hosted by Sophie B. de la Giroday, President of Wise Media, awards were presented as the ID WORLD community's recognition of the important contribution made by the thought leaders, innovators and pioneering adopters that drive the development of auto ID and wireless technology in the EMEA region. The awards are assigned to outstanding members of the EMEA ID Revolution Community who have distinguished themselves in key ICT-driven innovative projects in the areas of citizen ID, transportation security and asset tracking, as well as in key developments in postal and healthcare sectors.

Five Awards and a special Tribute were presented following nomination and voting by the members of the ID People Awards Committee, who have supported the initiative with enthusiasm in the run up to the event. The categories and winners are:

Citizen ID Forum Award: Assigned to the person who has distinguished himself in the area of government driven ID schemes and new approaches to citizen-centric services. Winner: Bernard Benhamou, Inter-ministerial Delegate on Internet usage, Ministry of Industry and Digital Economy, France, for developing the concept of the right to the 'silence of the chips', by giving back control to the citizens so their personal data transmitted via RFID chips, such as those which gives access to services or identify products, will be under their control.

Asset Tracking Forum Award: Assigned to the person who has established new growth areas for the adoption of auto ID technology in supply chain management, logistics and critical asset control. **Winner:** Sture Udd, CEO, UpCode, Finland for the development of a fully integrated mobile system that allows the checking of rights to be done by standard mobile phones without the added authentication of an alternative ID or document.

Transportation Security Forum Award: Assigned to a recognized leader in the transportation sector, who has brought security and efficiency to hubs





and networks to improve performance in airports, railroad stations or seaports. Winner: Dr. Arif Sultan Al Hammadi, Executive Vice President, Khalifa University in the UAE, for the establishment of the Cyber Operations Centre of Excellence at Khalifa University to encourage and support the development of intellectual property in the field of cyber operations and enhance research capability in specified cyber technology areas.

Postal Innovation Award: Assigned to the person who is facilitating the expansion of innovative auto ID technologies for the postal and express shipping sector. **Winner:** Rodah Masaviru, Secretary General, Pan African Postal Union, based in Tanzania, for her efforts in initiating strategies for the reform and the commercialization of postal enterprises in Africa, and to embrace new ICT solutions in order to offer diversified and quality services in the highly versatile communications environment.

HealthTech Innovation Award: Assigned to the person who is pioneering the adoption of auto ID technologies in the world of healthcare to improve patient security, hospital efficiency and the safe supply of pharmaceuticals. Winner: Dr. Olivier Harrison, Director of Public Health and Health Policy Health Authority of Abu Dhabi (HAAD), for driving the development of Weqaya, a unique whole population screening and intervention program, which unifies health data systems by collating it in a single architecture, ensuring the high standards of ethics, data security, and confidentiality.

Tribute to Individual Leadership and Vision: A special award assigned to a person with strategic insight, vision and leadership surrounding the many issues faced by modern society. Winner: Dr. Jamal Sanad Al Suwaidi, Director General of the Emirates Center for Strategic Studies and research ECSSR) for his determined mission to formulate strategies and take decisions for positive change in the various political, economic, social, informational, military and strategic arenas pertinent to the United Arab Emirates in particular and the Arab Gulf states, the Arab region and the international community, as a whole.



Winners and presenters at the ID People Awards ceremony in Abu Dhabi, 2012





Nominations are now being taken for the ID People Americas Awards 2012, which will be announced and presented during the second Americas Summit on security, mobility, and traceability, ID WORLD Rio de Janeiro, being held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil on June 4 – 5, 2012. (www.id-people.com and www.idworldriodejaneiro.com

About ID People EMEA Awards

The ID People EMEA Awards 2012 are the prestigious recognition of the important contribution made by the thought leaders, innovators and pioneering adopters that drive the development of auto ID and wireless technology in the EMEA region. The Awards are assigned to outstanding members of the EMEA ID Revolution Community who have distinguished themselves in the areas of citizen ID, transportation security and asset tracking, as well as key ICT-driven developments in the postal and healthcare sectors. For further information visit: www.id-people.com.

For further information, please contact: Media Contact: Pier Costa pier.costa@wisemedia.com